Laserlab-Europe AISBL Elections

Jens Biegert, ICREA professor at the Institut de Ciencies Fotoniques in Barcelona, has recently been elected chair of the general assembly of Laserlab-Europe. He has an establish record over many years of active engagement within that organization, currently also serving as chair of the networking board of Laserlab-Europe and in its management board.

ICREA Prof Dr Jens Biegert (Source: ICFO)

ICFO is a participating infrastructure of Laserlab-Europe through its Attoscience and Ultrafast Optics facility led by Prof Biegert and its Super-resolution Light Nanoscopy & Microscopy (SLN) facility led by Dr Pablo Loza.

Laserlab-Europe, the integrated initiative of European laser research Infrastructures, is a EU H2020 research project that aims to strengthen Europe’s leading position and competitiveness in this area. To achieve this goal, it promotes the Europe-wide use of advanced lasers and laser-based technologies in research and innovation and serves as a cross-disciplinary user community from academia and the industry.

It is a competitively funded project that began to take shape back in the 1990’s. In order to give this long-term project continuity, Laserlab-Europe AISBL was formed as an international not-for-profit association. The general assembly is the association’s decision-making body, consisting of 45 institutions across 22 countries as voting members, including ICFO. It appoints an executive director for the daily business that the general assembly decides. (Source: ICFO)

Further reading: Coherent Light from the UV to THz • Towards Top-level Laser Science and Innovations

Links: Laserlab-Europe AISBL, c/o Max Born Institute, Berlin, GermanyAttoscience and Ultrafast Optics, ICFO – Institut de Ciencies Fotoniques, Barcelona Institute of Science and Technology, Barcelona, Spain

Speak Your Mind