Tobias Kippenberg and Jean-Pierre Wolf Honored

Tobias Kippenberg and Jean-Pierre Wolf are the 2018 winners of the Zeiss Research Award, having impressed the jury with their exceptional work, respectively.

Winner of the Zeiss Research Award 2018: Prof. Tobias J. Kippen­berg (Source: Zeiss)

Kippenberg, Professor at the Labora­tory of Photonics and Quantum Measure­ments at the École Poly­tech­nique Fédérale de Lausanne EPFL, is a pioneer in the field of cavity opto­mecha­nics and micro­reso­nator-based optical frequency combs. His research has demons­trated that, by using micro­reso­nators – which can confine light in an extremely small space and guide it – the faint forces exerted by light rays can be used to measure and cool mecha­nical movements in the quantum regime. This means, for instance, that high-precision sensors can be developed to measure mecha­nical move­ments that are several orders of magnitude more precise than the currently available position sensors, and that are even sensitive enough to measure the quantum mecha­nical “zero point motion” of a mecha­nical oscil­lator.

Jean-Pierre Wolf, Professor at the Bio­photonics Institute at the Univer­sity of Geneva, will be honored for his ground­breaking appli­cation of ultra-short, ultra-intense laser pulses in resear­ching the earth’s atmosphere. His research makes it possible to find out more about pollutants in the earth’s atmosphere and poten­tially control lightning and conden­sation in clouds. This could even make it possible to prevent extreme weather. The focus of his research efforts has been on the applications of ultra-short spectroscopy for biological, medical and environ­mental research.

The awards will be presented during the symposium “Optics in the Quantum World” on 18 April 2018 at the ZEISS Forum in Oberkochen.

Winner of the Zeiss Research Award 2018: Prof. Jean-Pierre Wolf (Source: UniGe)

The Zeiss Research Award is presented every two years and has been allocated prize money totaling 40,000 euros. The selected candidates should have already demon­strated out­stan­ding achieve­ments in the field of optics or photonics. They should still be actively conduc­ting research, and their work should offer major potential for gaining further know­ledge and enabling practical appli­cations.

Since 2016, the Ernst Abbe Foundation in the Donors’ Association for the Promotion of Sciences and Humanities in Germany has been presenting a research award with a focus on up-and-coming talent: the Carl Zeiss Award for Young Researchers. The award has been allocated prize money totaling 21,000 euros and will be shared equally among three winners. This award will also be presented on April 18. The winners this year are Irene Costan­tini, Euro­pean Labora­tory for Non-Linear Spectros­copy, Florence; Kilian Heeg, Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics, Heidelberg; and Fabian Stutzki, Fraun­hofer Institute for Applied Optics and Preci­sion Enginee­ring, Jena. (Source: Zeiss)

Links: ZEISS Research Award, Carl Zeiss AG, Oberkochen, GermanyLaboratoire de Photonique et de Mesure Quantique (LPQM) – K-Lab (T. J. Kippenberg), École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne EPFL, Lausanne, SwitzerlandGroup of Applied Physics – GAP-Biophotonics (J.-P. Wolf), Université de Genève, Geneva, Switzerland

Speak Your Mind